Must-read Monthly Monday (Mar. ’20 ed.)

 

If it’s not specified, the time period covered in this post is from the 24th of February 2020 to the 23rd of March 2020.

Navigation: Other People’s ReadsSpellbook Offerings|Current Obsessions|Coming up next…

Other People’s Reads

It wouldn’t be a round-up post without them. However, since I scour people’s archives on a regular basis, these may not even be from the right time period…

  • Keep Your Hands Off Eizouken! (06) by Scott (The Con Artists) – I’ve come to deeply respect Kanamori’s role in the titular eizouken (it’s a “deep respect” in that it’s a love not quite on par with my love for husbandos) and it helps that she’s all over this one…but more importantly, funny screencaps and a sincere appreciation of this anime (which, in a rather cyclical manner, is itself a love letter to animation) also abound.

  • Lord El-Melloi II’s Greatest Trick is its Production Value || Review by Takuto (Anime Cafe Host) – This is probably the most comprehensive post I can find on Case Files…and any comprehensible and coherent attempt to squash Fate/ into a single post is always commendable, I think. 

  • Idolish7 Vibrato Episodes 1 + 2 by Shadow (Angry Anime Bitches) – Basically no one covers the short series, so I have to take what I can get, especially on series with a really established niche fandom like this.
  • Visual Kei and Anime – Miyavi by RiseFromAshes (Phoenix Talks Pop Culture Japan) – Rise maks an interesting point here about what music is used for official animated music videos, given fan-made AMVs are so pervasive in the fandom scene…and of course, if you’re checking out ID: Invaded this season, it’s basically a huge excuse to go binge Miyavi’s work anyway…
  • School Days: Talk to Me, Just Talk to Me. by Dewbond (Shallow Dives in Anime) – Aside from the fact the title is like Dewbond speaking to the work directly (which is as confusing as it is funny), the fact he manages to capture each character into a single paragraph is enough for praise, I think.
  • Liveblog: Yuki Yuna is a Hero, Episode 1 by Cornelio’s Corner – I assume this was from 2014 when the show first came out, but this blog, which was abandoned after the last instalment of Yuki Yuna (as we know it) came out in 2017, is entertaining enough that I think it’s a good find.
  • Thoughts About ID: Invaded by Misa Appiah – This blog isn’t particularly populated, but the thoughts in the posts are of an excellent quality, at least.
  • The Tale Surrounding Haruhi Suzumiya by KALT (Kalt in Thought) – Although this post reveals halfway through that it’s mostly a post to extol the virtues of Nagato (and exactly how mysterious Koizumi is), that’s not necessarily a bad thing. This blogger-friend-of-a-blogger-friend of mine is steadily improving thir craft so I’ll keep an eye out for them.
  • Why You Should Watch Mairimashita! Iruma-kun by Nabe (Geeknabe) – I’ve been interacting with Nabe lately and haven’t paid my common courtesy of sharing quality posts after digging around the archives (as I normally do). Mairimashita! Iruma-kun is over now but with a season 2 coming, it’s going to need the promotion. While it does drag a little as long-running shonen are wont to do, it’s still a fun time.  
  • How Ancient Magus’ Bride caused me to stop buying manga by Casper (Reasons to Anime) – Cancellations are commonplace in this world of ours (especially with the current circumstances!) and there’s only so many physical volumes one can keep, even at libraries. This post, about researching what you want to keep, is made more than worth it by the comments.

Navigation: Other People’s ReadsSpellbook Offerings|Current Obsessions|Coming up next…

Spellbook Offerings

Fate/Stay Project (El-Melloi II’s Case Files, Prisma Illya)

Suddenly, things have become a lot more genre-specific…

Other Stuff 

Navigation: Other People’s ReadsSpellbook Offerings|Current Obsessions|Coming up next…

Current Obsessions

  • Japanese: This one’s not a surprise, considering I put a lot of stock into it in general. However, this month I launched back into formal studies of it and this is the first time in 8+ years of doing the language where I’ve seriously regretted staking a piece of my identity on it. The last time I did formal Japanese studies before this was November 2018…saying that most of my skills have gone down the drain after this hiatus is an understatement. (Note I didn’t continue in 2019 because I didn’t think I had the time and space to do so when I had to plan in 2018, but rejecting an entire possible future left me with the ability to finish.) The coronavirus has only caused me to be more stressed and unsure.
  • Discord: With all the social distancing measures enacted, I’ve spent more time on Discord drowning my sorrows in Discord chat, including kakera/husbando gathering and Hypnosis Mic listening/discussion.
  • Hypnosis Mic: On the topic of the previous dot point, Matenrou’s new singles appear on the 25th (the drama track’s preview is already on YouTube), the game appears on the 26th on the Japanese iOS store (I don’t know about Android), the live event cancelled due to social distancing is going to be streaming…aside from the fact you need a VPN to watch, apparently…and the anime is coming soon, so now’s a good time to be a fan. It’s become somewhat clear from my On Repeat playlist on Spotify since the last time I mentioned it in this post although Matenrou are still favourites character-wise, Fling Posse do the best songs…although I find Ramuda – and his solo songs – as annoying as they are catchy. (February’s drama track was instrumental in driving up plays of Stella, which was topping the playlist…before I checked said playlist around midnight today and Utena overtook it.) 

Navigation: Other People’s ReadsSpellbook Offerings|Current Obsessions|Coming up next…

Coming up next…

  • Well, the future is uncertain for now. More of my laptop keys are starting to die on me just when people are being told to work from home, which doesn’t help matters…

Navigation: Other People’s ReadsSpellbook Offerings|Current Obsessions|Coming up next…

Top of page

7 thoughts on “Must-read Monthly Monday (Mar. ’20 ed.)

Add yours

  1. Thanks so much for the mention!

    Normally my titles are either little joke, or a feeling I have regarding the series as a whole. For School Days, those words pretty much summed up the problem all the characters have, they just don’t talk to each other.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think about this?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑